Blackstone River Collaboratory


The Worcester Area College
Research Collaboratory for Science
on the headwaters of the Blackstone River

Working List of Researchers

Our hope is to identify faculty who have scientific research programs that might accomodate some key research questions related to the Blackstone River. We want to capitalize on the collaborative force of scientists working together from Clark University, Worcester Polytechnic Institute and the College of the Holy Cross.

Send any additions or corrections to this list to Catherine Roberts at croberts@holycross.edu

Blackstone Resource Contacts
Colin Novick colin@gwlt.org 508-795-3838 (Greater Worcester Land Trust)
Peter Coffin coffin@mwisp.net 508-478-0619
Donna Williams dwilliams@massaudubon.org 508-753-6087 (Massachusetts Audubon)
Lance McKee lancemckee@charter.net 508-752-0108 (Tatnuck Brook Watershed Association & formerly Open GIS Consortium)
Jim Plasse james.plasse@earthlink.net (Blackstone River Watershed Association)
Lynne Welsh mandlwelsh@aol.com 508-849-4007 (former Pres. of Blackstone River Watershed Association and formerly EOEA, Blackstone initiatives)

Clark University
Tim Downs tdowns@clarku.edu 508-421-3814 Webpage (Env. Science & Policy)
Gil Pontius rpontius@clarku.edu 508-793-7761 Webpage (Geography, Tatnuck Brook Watershed Association)
Eben Swain eswain@clarku.edu (graduate student of Gil's)

Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Ronald Cheetham cheetham@wpi.edu 508-831-5582 Webpage (Biology & Biotechnology, aquatic ecology)
Jeanine Plummer jplummer@wpi.edu 508-831-5142 Webpage (Environmental engineering, water quality)

College of the Holy Cross
Catherine Roberts croberts@holycross.edu 508-793-2456 Webpage (Mathematics, environmental modeling)
Bill Sobczak wsobczak@holycross.edu 508-793-3752 Webpage (Biology, water ecology)
Jan Van Doren jvandore@holycross.edu 508-793-3376 (Chemistry, analytic and environmental)
Robert Bertin rbertin@holycross.edu 508-793-2352 Webpage (Biology, invasive species)

Nichols College
Mauri Pelto peltoms@nichols.edu 508- 363-1467 Webpage (Environmental Science, Blackstone water resource research)


These webpages are maintained by Catherine A. Roberts.